Market Voices and Building Business

Turning Voices into Choices

  • Archived Blogs

Recreation

Posted by John on June 15, 2010

I am not necessarily talking about the “fun” or “sports” version here.  I am talking about re-create – to create again.  Just how can we change and renew ourselves, our business, our relationships, our life?

“and on the seventh day, He rested.”  Genesis 2:2

Yes – there it is.  He took time to think and reflect and ponder(see blog from January 4).  Over the past few days, I have had time to recreate.  Some it was the traditional idea of physical fun(at least for me).  I took a swim in a windy stormy lake and had to fight one day and two mornings later, the lake was glass and the swim was a meditation as I watched the sunrise with each turn of the head to breathe.  I also completed 72 miles on my bike raising money for diabetes.  (Thanks to all who contributed and congrats to those who participated!!!)

The biking “recreation” created a microcosm of business building for me.  Initially, we milled around and rode in a group talking and greeting.  We exchanged pleasantries, information and ideas.  Networking!!   Then, as we split into different speeds, I found myself alone with time to think about my life and my goals.  This time in transition until I find the next opportunity, has taught me to value this time but to catalog ideas as they come.

Then, I joined a pace line and this allowed me to travel faster with less effort because of teamwork.  Taking turns leading, you only have to fight the wind part of the time.  When done with your turn in leadership, you drop back into the group but now out of the wind.  Someone else takes the lead and provides the energy to get you toward your goal.

The pace line is a great analogy of high performing teams within business.  Different skill sets work together to take the leadership position when the time is right to keep the team at optimum pace and creating best results.

That is what great companies provide for their employees – a place to create a team where each member is driven to perform at the max but then given the safety to recover and prepare for the next push.

So right now may be a great time and place for you to recreate  - yourself, your business, your goals.  But when done, you need to form or join a supportive driven team that can race along at high speed to deliver you toward the goals set.

Happy trails.

One Response to “Recreation”

  1. robewanow said

    Great post!

    Now to figure how to use it in my life, work and personal.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

