Mosko's Musings

Turn Voices into Choices

  • Archived Blogs

So much is trivial! Remember the important.

Posted by John on April 27, 2012

Crappy 24 hours.  No parent should outlive their child.  Chris was taken by an Afghani IED on April 26.  He was a great man in so many ways.  We loved him and cherished him and now we will grieve him.  He chose well and was a great husband.  They had so much but our hearts are breaking for Amanda and all the things that will never be.  We watched him fall deeply in love completely and she returned his love completely.  They were to be together forever.  Really hate that “til death do us part” thing when it comes this fast.

Meredith and Nate are on their way.  Being with those you love is so important at these times.  Meredith is devastated by the loss of her big brother.  They had grown closer over the recent years and this is a crushing blow in a year that was meant to be full of joy.

Right now, not much else I can say.    We will head to Dover to great his body as he returns to the US.  After that, don’t know.

Please pray for Amanda and us as we navigate these rocky waters

10 Responses to “So much is trivial! Remember the important.”

  1. John Budnaitis said

    John,

    I am so saddened to hear about your tragic loss. My deepest heartfelt condolences to you, your family and his wife. I’m truly shocked -

    John Bud

  2. Adele said

    Profound and wise words, John. My heart is breaking for your family. Of course, my prayers are with you all. Let us all know if there’s anything at all we can do – but know that everyone is embracing you with love and caring, but laced with sorrow…

  3. Carol Kirk said

    Dear Mosko family, my heart is heavy with the news of Chris. I am so very, very sorry for your loss. Chris was a wonderful young man, one whom I admired and knew who would do great things. My thoughts and prayers are with you during this difficult time. Respectfully yours, Carol Kirk, (6th Grade Teacher, Delong Middle School, Eau Claire, WI

  4. John and Family,

    My heart sank, I had trouble swallowing, and I looked for my children when I read about Chris for the first time this morning. I offer my deepest sympathies.

    I don’t remember meeting Chris but remember seeing John with his family while being out in Eau Claire. However, I beleive Chris to be an honorable person of great integrity. I know this because of his father John, who has the highest level of integrity and who I trust greatly.

    My thoughts and prayers will be with you all.

    Sincerely,
    Brandon

  5. Leslie Fisher said

    John, Gayle, Meredith and Amanda,

    There just simply are no words to describe my deepest sympathy for all of you at this tragic time. Chris was such a wonderful person in all ways, intelligent, thoughtful, loving and easy going. I will always remember Chris and Amanda’s wedding and how you and Chris were able to pull together within hours an incredibly lovely and special event. Chris and Amanda’s calm and composure during what other brides and grooms would have considered a catastrophe showed me how much they loved each other and not to “sweat the small stuff” and in the end love triumphs. I feel incredibly blessed to have known Chris and how happy Amanda was with him.

    I would like to say on behalf of all the Fisher family that we are all with heavy hearts and are at the ready for anything that we can do to help at this very sorrowing time.

    With much love,
    Leslie Fisher

    The words from this hymn always make me tear up as well as they bring me comfort…

    On Eagles Wings
    You who dwell in the shelter of the Lord,
    Who abide in His shadow for life,
    Say to the Lord, “My Refuge,
    My Rock in Whom I trust.”

    And He will raise you up on eagle’s wings,
    Bear you on the breath of dawn,
    Make you to shine like the sun,
    And hold you in the palm of His Hand.
    The snare of the fowler will never capture you,
    And famine will bring you no fear;
    Under His Wings your refuge,
    His faithfulness your shield.

    And He will raise you up on eagle’s wings,
    Bear you on the breath of dawn,
    Make you to shine like the sun,
    And hold you in the palm of His Hand.
    You need not fear the terror of the night,
    Nor the arrow that flies by day,
    Though thousands fall about you,
    Near you it shall not come.

    And He will raise you up on eagle’s wings,
    Bear you on the breath of dawn,
    Make you to shine like the sun,
    And hold you in the palm of His Hand.
    For to His angels He’s given a command,
    To guard you in all of your ways,
    Upon their hands they will bear you up,
    Lest you dash your foot against a stone.

    And He will raise you up on eagle’s wings,
    Bear you on the breath of dawn,
    Make you to shine like the sun,
    And hold you in the palm of His Hand.

  6. Ann Keen said

    John, I worked with you at Gore/Elk Mills a few years ago. Barb Monjon told me Friday about what happened to your son, Chris. I am trying to write something profound, but nothing is coming. My husband and I have three boys (men). I have written your name in the intentions book at my church, so a lot of parishioners at the University of Delaware chapel in Newark will be praying for you, Chris and your family. I am praying for peace.

    Sincerely,
    Ann D. Keen

  7. Jim Ray said

    John -

    I don’t know you but I know something about your pain. It has been a little over two years since my son Adam was killed in Helmand province. I wish I had words of wisdom and comfort to offer, but I only know this: God’s promises are true.

    -Jim Ray

  8. Cory said

    John,

    You do not know me from Adam, but I live in Madison, WI, and the local news just aired a story about your son’s untimely death, and mentioned your blog in the process. My father retired as a Commander in the USNR, and while he was lucky it never happened, he very well could have been called to active duty during the first Gulf War conflict. I guess what I’m trying to say is that, while it pales in comparison, I DO have SOME sort of understanding of what it’s like to have a family member serve this country so proudly, and what can easily happen to that family member in the blink of an eye if ever they are called to do their duty.

    My heart aches for you and your family. I AM SO VERY SORRY for your unimaginable loss. May God grant you peace and comfort with the knowledge that your son served his country proudly and with the understanding of a grieving Father who, too many years ago to count, also had his Son taken from Him, from this day forward.

  9. Michael Wang said

    Dear Sir,
    I knew your son while he was at Drexel. Though I did not know him well, as he graduated a few years before me (I graduated 2010); I always looked up to him with great respect and admiration. It is awesome knowing that men like Chris are out there serving our country and protecting this nation. It saddens me to hear of his loss. There are no words for this. I am sorry for your loss and pray that God would comfort you and his family.

  10. Bruce & Tina Carlton said

    John, Gayle, Meredith and Amanda,

    Although it has been some time since we last saw his smile, he left such a mark on our lives. It tugged at our hearts to read that he ever so briefly touched Delaware again on his journey home. May the Lord shelter you in your time of loss, fill your heart with peace and bless your tears and trembling heart.

    Caring thoughts and prayers are with you now and always,

    Coach Bruce

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

