For those who hear but do not listen….

A week of listening – listening to others, listening for ideas, listening to my own internal voice. I think this transition has has caused me to listen better. In Yiddish, the two words are very similar(heren(hear) and deheren(listen)) but refer to a physical (catching sound) versus an intellectual(grasping the meaning) act.(Rabbi Bernoz) Listening influences of who we are and what we think. So my week focused on “grasping meaning.”

I listen to people who are becoming advisors, to the leader of High Tech Rochester, to a sermon, to my family, to my friends, and yes, to that small internal voice inside as I look to the future. Each of these play an important role as I strive to “grasp the meaning” for me.

At HTR, I was reminded of the excitement at launching and growing a successful and profitable business. We drove successful ideas on collaboration until the product was commercially viable, money was dedicated to seed the venture, lead users found to do commercial concept testing, market communication planed, and finally production capacity built. The outcome? Innovative products which delivered profits and economic value added to the corporation. This is where I will offer real value.

This week I also listened to my mom. No, she was not telling me what to do or her favorite story of the day – then I hear, not always listen. I was listening to a nervous, a bit scared, elderly women facing a biopsy procedure she did not understand. The hours of waiting with no information – we wanted to listen but no one was speaking. I did see doctors and nurses listen to my mother and understand her feelings.

Finally, this week, I am doing a bit of a 360 degree look at myself. I am trying to determine what is unique about me. Meeting with two life/career coaches this week, I learned some new ways to begin to drive toward my ideal career. Special thanks this week to all who listened to me and gave input, specifically Luis Martinez( http://www.gettingtherecoach.com , “Getting There – It’s not about the resume”), Tom Grady(www.theXLR8team.com ) and Gayle.

So, this week I will continue to listen carefully for that opportunity to help build a business into a profitable, successful place where making money and having fun is the mode of operation.

Author: John

Business Executive with Marketing, Product, Sales and General Management Experience. Currently, consulting in areas of strategic marketing, pricing excellence, key account management, and market driven innovation. Love to read, ride my bike, swim, compete in tri's, pick/drink wine, meet with friends, live life.

4 thoughts on “For those who hear but do not listen….”

  1. John,

    For too long and too often we all hear the world going on around us; we fail to slow down to listen to what’s really happening. By taking the time to listen, we learn what is truly important; hopefully then we will be able to adapt and change course.

    Keep listening; by filtering the white noise you should find your correct path on which to move forward. Know your friends are here to help, and are good sounding boards.

    God Bless;

    KME

    “…freedom is never free – shake hands with a Vet and thank them for their service…”

    Like

Leave a Reply

