Loss of a best friend – My Mom – Eva Jane Mosko

This week I lost one of the great friends in my life – my mom. She passed away Saturday, 9 January 2010 in my father’s arms as she passed into Our Father’s arms. She knew her time among us was at an end and was looking to the peace and comfort she would find in the hands of her Savior. She knew she was going to a better place.
John 14:2. “In my Father’s house, there are many mansions. If it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you?” Saying our goodbyes just two days before she said “Just want a bungalow, maybe by the water.” What faith, what simplicity.
She was born, lived and died within about a mile radius but her influence reaches well beyond this community because she reached out to all. Children, natural beauty and music were her special passions. The children she taught and helped at their formative years are now global citizens helping this world be a better place.
She survived cancer for about 30 years – refusing to let it slow her down and coming back to live life fully. She has many friends who meant the world to her. With my dad as her best friend and the love of her life, she continued to reach out to the community up until the very end – much more interested in what she could do for others than what others could do for her.
Mom was able to be “in relationship” with so many people. She made all feel special from the smallest of children that she taught to her family to her God. Her biggest complaint at the end was that she could not read her Bible but she would still pray.
Please remember the things she gave this world. And when you have a chance, lift a glass of wine or a cup of tea for her. Think of her and pass her spirit forward.
This was truly “a life well lived.”
So while we will all feel sad about our loss, please do not mourn for long. Please celebrate your relationship with her
1Thessalonians 5 16 – Be joyful always. Give thanks in all circumstances, for this is Gods will for you in Jesus Christ.

Author: John

Business Executive with Marketing, Product, Sales and General Management Experience. Currently, consulting in areas of strategic marketing, pricing excellence, key account management, and market driven innovation. Love to read, ride my bike, swim, compete in tri's, pick/drink wine, meet with friends, live life.

10 thoughts on “Loss of a best friend – My Mom – Eva Jane Mosko”

  1. John:

    I am so sorry for your loss. I never had the good fortune to meet your mother, but she sounds like a wonderful person, I am sure she touched many lives and will be missed by all.

    My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family. Take care, my friend.

    All the best,
    Steven J. Vaccaro

    Like

  2. John,
    So beautifully written. Our Moms had a lot in common. The one thing that I have of my mother’s is a music box with this written on it “some people come into our lives – leave footprints on our hearts, and we are never, ever the same.” Thanks Mom.
    Tom

    Like

  3. John-your mom must have been so proud of you. Your kind words seem like they would be coming from her. Thoughts and prayers are with you and your dad. Inspiring to hear how her faith carried her through life. Inspiring to hear them through your words.
    Mary

    Like

  4. John,

    Your mother will be missed here, but an asset to God. She was a beautiful, caring person. Our prayers are with your and your family at this time of celebration of your mother’s life. Among the Irish traditions, I have embraced the celebration rather than mourning; I think your mom would want that too. I will raise my glass, as HE raises your mom up to heaven.

    God Bless,

    Kevin

    Like

  5. Hi John,
    I’m very sorry to hear of your loss. I had a great visit with your parents 2 years ago on a visit back to NJ and am glad to have had that opportunity. Your Mom was a big part of my childhood memories at North Branch–I’ll never forget the many Christmas Eves with your family. Visiting your Mom and my Dad as a kid at the church when they worked together was always a treat….especially the Milky Way bars–she always had them at her desk!! You and your family will be in my thoughts……….
    John

    Like

Leave a Reply

